Author Topic: Third party RAM  (Read 3623 times)

Offline Himrich

  • Super Duper Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« on: February 06, 2004, 12:29:55 PM »
Quickly, I have MacMall on the other line.

I would like to know what you guys think the best third party RAM is for the Mac. Who does Apple use to make their RAM?
Rick

A Mac User and Lover since 1985.

Offline Bruce_F

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1425
    • View Profile
Third party RAM
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2004, 12:58:35 PM »
I get all my RAM from OWC. Never have had a problem with their RAM on 6 different computers.

I think Apple gets RAM from whoever is competitive at the time they order.
-Bruce-

Offline bobw

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 611
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2004, 01:16:42 PM »
A good place to look;

http://www.ramseeker.com

Just make sure there is a lifetime warranty.

Offline jepinto

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 6195
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2004, 01:17:38 PM »
OWC vote here.
Do not fear your enemies.  The worse they can do is kill you.  Do not fear friends.  At worst, they may betray you.
Fear those who do not care; they neither kill nor betray, but betrayal and murder exist because of their silent consent.
~Bruno Jasienski~

Offline Paddy

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 13744
    • View Profile
    • https://www.paddyduncan.com
Third party RAM
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2004, 02:29:04 PM »
OWC or DataMemory Systems here.

MacMall is expensive, if I remember correctly.
"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into committees. That'll do them in." ~Author unknown •iMac 5K, 27" 3.6Ghz i9 (2019) • 15" MBP(2019) 2.4Ghz i9 • 9.7" iPad Pro • iPhone 8

Offline Mayo

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 3215
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2004, 05:18:12 PM »
Two Thumbs Down for 1-800-4-MEMORY.  I had to exchange two modules before the third was okay.  Fast service, no problems doing the returns, but the second RAM module was tagged by Apple repair as being defective and 1-800-4-MEMORY said that Apple thinks all third-party memory is defective, or words to that effect.  But they exchanged the module anyway...

At any rate, that seems like a high rate of duds.  They were the least expensive at the time but not by THAT much.  I would probably go with OWC in the future, mainly because of their rep.

Offline sluggo

  • Super Duper Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 558
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2004, 06:47:05 AM »
Though you've probably made the purchase by now, I've always gone with Data Memory Systems like Paddy says. The price is always comparble to other places and they have a lifetime guarantee.
Todd
________________________________________________________________________________

"Time loves to be wasted. From that waste there is no salvage." - Henry Ford

Offline themphill

  • Poster Child
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Third party RAM
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2004, 11:30:04 AM »
I have bought from OWC many, many times in the past. Mostly, but not 100% good results. Kingston has always had a good reputation,  but that has seems to have eroded somewhat, if you follow and give credence to the reports at MacInTouch. My most recent purchase was from Viking Components by way of Amazon, of all places. Viking is a major player in the OEM market, which is why I chose them. They don't sell directly to consumers. I was completely satisfied with my recent purchase.

Offline Al

  • TS Addict
  • Posts: 3105
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2004, 01:48:58 PM »
OWC!
27" 2.8 GHz Intel I7 iMac, 8 GB RAM, 2 TB HD, 2x 2TB OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro external HD, EyeTV 250 Plus, 23" Acer HD monitor, OS 10.6.7
13" 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB 7200 RPM HD, OS 10.6.7
13" 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, OS 10.6.7
(2) 5th Gen. iPods (30GB & 80GB), iPhone 4 (x2) 16 GB iOS 4.3.3, iPhone 3GS 16 GB

Offline Himrich

  • Super Duper Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2004, 06:37:01 PM »
It was actually a replacement for some "no Name" memory MacMall had put in with their free 512mb upgrade to 1gb. Since I was returning that memory and getting it replaced free of charge it came down to which one to pick, not price, so I chose Kingston. I received it this morning and put it in. Things ran fine for several hours and then I was unable to reboot again. I could only reboot into Safe Mode. I tried several repairs to the hard drive and system but after 2 hours of frustration I decided to start from scratch. Luckily I had backed up late last night.

I used the external hard drive to boot up the computer, erased the Powerbook hard drive completely and am doing a Panther install from scratch. The reason I had to erase it is because on attempting to do an "archive and install" it froze up solid. When I rebooted on the external I saw a "previous system" on the Powerbook but nothing was begun on installing the new "System." I figured I messed it up beyond repair. The second attempt was an "erase and install" which also froze up. Thus the decision to use Disk Utility and erase the volume completely. With any luck this fresh install will be OK.

Now my question to you: I want to use this cleanly installed OS X after the software updates. How can I set up Carbon Copy Cloner to copy everything back to the Powerbook except the newly installed X?

Rick
Rick

A Mac User and Lover since 1985.

Offline kelly

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17040
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2004, 09:04:10 AM »
What do you mean Rick? Copy everything but the OS? smile.gif

You mean Clone your Users Folder back to the Powerbook?

If so. Then just do that. smile.gif
kelly
Veteran SuperUser

Offline Himrich

  • Super Duper Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2004, 11:20:31 PM »
You're right Kelly. How stupid of me. I now realize that you can remove items in the right column that you don't want to clone back. Cloning the Documents and Users folders are no brainers, but the big question is "Do I dare mess with the library folders (both in the System and Users folders)? Isn' that where all the prefs, etc. are lying in wait?

Rick
« Last Edit: February 08, 2004, 11:21:08 PM by Himrich »
Rick

A Mac User and Lover since 1985.

Offline kelly

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17040
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2004, 08:03:58 AM »
I would not Clone the main Library Folder. smile.gif

You should be relatively safe with the whole users Folder.

But I'm not promising anything. wink.gif
kelly
Veteran SuperUser

Offline FLASH1296

  • Super Duper Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 468
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2004, 01:26:51 PM »
I have  dealt  almost exclusively with TechWorks of Austin, TX  since 1986    http://www.techworks.com/company/index.html      800/688-7466

but lately I have spoken with "Matt parker" at PowerlineMemory   800/898-6777   and  he  impressed me with his RAM-fluency

Offline FLASH1296

  • Super Duper Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 468
    • View Profile
    • http://
Third party RAM
« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2004, 01:46:26 PM »
Just bought RAM  from  "Kimble" at TechWorks   I have dealt with him before and he is trustworthy and knowledgeable.  He beat everyone else that i spoke to by a significant margin !  Finally had to decide between 256 MB  and a 512 MB for a Ti P.B.  With the more expensive PC133 RAM required for Firewire equipped PB's --  they are $61  and  $129 respectively,   and  ground shipping was a flat $5 in either case.