Techsurvivors
Archives => 2006 => Topic started by: Johanbgoot on July 09, 2006, 08:35:02 AM
-
In Library there is a "preferences" file (dated today 7.55 am) and a "preferences_old" file date 8/18/2005 containg 2.9 gigabits. I am using 10.3.9, can I throw this file out?
Thanks,
Johan
-
I would try throwing out, but not emptying the trash. That has worked for me, if it worked without the file in place, I would empty. If not, I would put it back.
With earlier systems, I threw out almost all the preferences in my once a month cleaning proceedure which RHP developed.
The old system tended to get corrupted preference files pretty easily, but if I am not mistaken, OS X bulds new pref file every time you re-start???
HTH
-
Yeah. Try what weldiger says.
Wonder if some utility created that.
Did you ever do an Archive and Install?
-
I did have to reinstall 10.3.5 last year but I cannot remember if it was an archive and install. There are 146 items in the preferences_old file and 219 items in the preferences file. It would appear that there are the same files in each file. Should I place each of the 146 files individually in the trash and see what happens or just put the complete file in the trash and see what happens? I hope this is clear.
-
IMO put the whole Folder in the Trash jb.

They can't be affecting anything.
And if you needed one you'd have missed it by now.
I say throw them away entirely.
-
Thanks Weldiger and Kelly,
I did as you suggested Kelly, I threw out the file, used the computer for a while, no change. Restarted and everything is still just as smooth as ever.
Johan