Techsurvivors
Archives => 2003 => Topic started by: Audone on May 20, 2003, 09:26:01 PM
-
I'm not having any luck with the Search feature here, but I'm sure this was discussed at some point in the last few months. In the Software Update preference panel is the tab "Installed Updates". Mine has obviously not been recording any updates at all, as it is blank.
Was there a fix for this, or am I forever doomed to have a blank page in there?
-
Audone, Per Knowledge Base Document 107136, this outta do it (indeed it did work for me).
Solution:
To resolve this issue, you need to correct the permissions on the folder /Library/Logs/. The steps for doing so are found in technical document 107039, "Mac OS X 10.2: How to Change Ownership & Permissions Using the Finder".
You should then set them as follows:
* Owner: system
* Owner Access: Read & Write
* Group: admin
* Group Access: Read & Write
* Others: Read only
Notes
1. If you upgraded from Mac OS X 10.1, the Group Access permissions may be "Read only" instead of "Read Write".
2. To verify whether a software update was installed successfully, look for its receipt in the folder /Library/Receipts/.
3. This issue will occur if a non-Admin user is allowed to install via Software Updates. Do not allow non-Admin users to install via Software Update if this issue is undesirable.
-------
Harv
-
I knew there'd be somebody to solve my dilemma!
I've done as suggested, however, the option to change 'Group Access: Read & Write', remains greyed out and I cannot change it from 'Read only'.
I'm running 10.2.6.
-
Audone, That too happened to me, and as I recall (but am uncertain) the solution was to change the Owner to Unknown, make the required change, and then revert the Owner to System.
HTH
Harv
-
.... no luck! It stays grayed out, even trying various owners. I'm off to work, but will tackle this again tonight.
Thanks, Harv.
-
You have to unlock the Get Info pane by clicking on the padlock icon and possibly entering your Admin password if asked. The options will then become available.
[EDIT]
Ooops, just re-read your replies...it's group you can not change.
second edit:
I see you got it to work...
'apply to enclosed items' thats for directories or folders, so in this case no.
-
I had done that, kps. I tried all the changes about 5 times, and finally it seems to have been successful .... and I haven't a clue why!

Do I have to click on 'apply to enclosed items'? It warns me that performing that action cannot be undone ... scary when you're a neophyte like me!
-
See my multi edited post above...
-
Karl to the rescue.
Glad it all worked out. 
Harv