Techsurvivors

Welcome to Techsurvivors => Tech => Topic started by: george on March 25, 2010, 11:06:17 AM

Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: george on March 25, 2010, 11:06:17 AM
when double clicking a picture within iPhoto the norm is for that picture to then fill the whole screen, but no the screen changes to a black and grey screen with big exclamation mark which to me means no entry.
I do not know how to show this within this thread, perhaps someone else has come across this problem before.
George
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: george on March 25, 2010, 01:04:03 PM
[attachment=1823:Screen_s...18.00.26.png]
forgot about screen shot
G
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: Xairbusdriver on March 25, 2010, 02:43:44 PM
I can't remember you OS version...and what version of iPhoto are you using?
Does this happen with all images or just the ones with you in them? tease.gif

Does iPhoto have a restore from Backup function?
Do you have a back of the iPhoto Library?
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: george on March 25, 2010, 03:00:19 PM
OS 10.6.2
iPhoto '09
it happens with all images
i removed Time Machine on my external drive and replaced it with backup of working drive only yesterday using SD
G
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: Xairbusdriver on March 25, 2010, 03:13:49 PM
Wht did you stop using both methods?! The SD copy only keeps the most current version of things, I fear. And that one may well be the corrupted one. Of course, all Libraries may not make it onto a TM back up, either, but my iPhoto Library is in a folder that does get backed up by TM.

Still, I don't ever use iPhoto, so I don't know anything about restoring from this condition. so...
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: Paddy on March 25, 2010, 03:26:30 PM
iPhoto for whatever reason, has lost the connection between the thumbnail and the original (enlargement). You need to rebuild your iPhoto library, George.

See: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?m...1&#10869111 for instructions (in the last post).
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: george on March 25, 2010, 03:36:21 PM
Thanks for your help Jim but in iChatting to Harv he suggested deleting iPhoto plists in preferences and Bingo it works.
G
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: Xairbusdriver on March 25, 2010, 04:24:35 PM
QUOTE
thanks for your help...but in iChatting..[with]
UNFAIR! ADMINS: Please cancel this membership! rant.gif tease.gif
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: Paddy on March 25, 2010, 05:39:36 PM
Interesting - I wouldn't have thought that the link between the thumbnail and the image would be found in the preferences, but hey - if it works, great! Easier than rebuilding the library, even though that is the fix suggested in thread after thread where this issue arose. smile.gif
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: RHPConsult on March 25, 2010, 09:22:15 PM
May I slip in here for some (more) iPhoto advice for my daughter?

Thanks to helpful advice/opinions from several members of this distinguished assemblage over the past month or so, she's now the owner/operator of a very smoothly functioning G4 flat-panel and a 23" iMacIntel . . . all networked (Airport) at her home with an HP AIO, and both backed-up safe and sound to an external 1TB MercuryElite HD. Both running Snow Leopard.

In the process she has also cleaned-up her iPhoto Library . . . down from 6000+ items (including duplicates) to about 4300. She asks me a question for which I seem, but only hazily, to recall a TeeEss thread of a couple of years ago on cleaning-up excess iPhoto files, beyond just "deleting" the dups. Isn't there some Library/cache/whatever where those now unnecessary photo-flies have been stashed? Do I remember that correctly?

Do they have to be fully "hosed", somehow, in some way, so to clean-up your hard drive . . . really?

Thanks.
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: krissel on March 30, 2010, 06:53:08 AM
If she truly wants to get rid of photos, all she needs do is put them in the iPhoto trash then empty that trash.
Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: RHPConsult on March 30, 2010, 09:20:14 AM
Sorry for appearing so dense, but does "deleting" a photo from the Library do that, completely? Strike that – "being so dense" is more like it.

I thought I recalled that there was something else – some other kind of "memory" of those otherwise deleted Photo Library files –  remaining "somewhere", that also had to be deleted-and-trashed if one wished really to clean out/up a HD.

So deleting = deleting. What a novel idea!

 doh.gif

Title: iPhoto '09
Post by: krissel on March 30, 2010, 10:59:01 AM
When you delete it has to be from the Library itself. If you do it from an album only the album "alias" will be deleted, the original will still exist.

In the Library view you can select and Command+Delete to put an item into the iPhoto Trash or you can just drag it to the Trash icon in the left pane. Then right click on the icon and choose Empty Trash. You will get a warning window that asks if you really want to do it since it will be permanent.

This will remove the originals and the main data from the iPhoto Library. BTW, you can access the library by right clicking on the iPhoto Library within user/Library/Pictures/iPhoto Library and select show package contents.