I can't vouch for the TM backup, but you can boot from the SD backup and use Secure Empty Trash from there.
QUOTE
This was an Apple method of deleting TM files/folders using TM, not Finder.
I'm aware of that, but the OP had asked about using Finder and I wanted to be sure she didn't do that. I was just re-enforcing your warning.
