Techsurvivors
Archives => 2003 => Topic started by: dakota on September 19, 2003, 12:44:31 AM
-
I am using Retrospect to clone my HD. I lost some data from my preferences and tried to copy them back but discovered they are one and the same. How do you clone your home data and have an actual copy??? I seem to have the same folder - if I were to delete the prefs file on one it would delete it from the second. I need to be able to have a backup of this data!
-
Just curious.
I've used Retrospect Express for some years on a beige/G3 running 8.6. It's ho-kay
If a "clone" is what you want, however, why fool with Retrospect? I believe I recall coreectly that you're using 10.2.x? Then, why not just get/use CarbonCopyCloner and be done with it.
Nothing could be simpler on my Pismo w/10.2.6
Clone is what you want, clone is what you get. No questions.
-
Clone is what I am supposed to be getting with Retrospect. I tried CCC once and the same thing happened.
-
dakota:
If you properly backed up your HD with Retrospect, then you have every file in retro's catelog file. Click restore, choose you source catelog, choose your destenation, and click the files button to search for the file you want to restore. Click the check box for only the files you want, and Retrospect should restore it to the destenation.
-
I don't use any of that software so I may be way off on this but it sounds more like you have "synchonize" for the two drives so when something changes on the main drive it automatically changes on the second.
You need to set up a backup to run at a particular time or do it manually to be sure you are copying good files for future use.
-
I am running it at a certain type - checked to do an automated execution every two days. Certain files do not get copied , though - generally those marked var., etc. from "private".
-
Dakota, have you tried using the "Duplicate" option of Retrospect?
If you use that option all will get copied except the small tracking preference file on the open partition which is only used by the open drive. When I backup, I use "Duplicate" and choose the option"Replace Corresponding Files". I backup from a third partition so even the tracking preference is copied. This is all done on a predetermined schedule automatically.
Give it a try, with a portion, file, or folder and see if that avenue doesn't take you where you want to be.
your mileage may vary.......
-
I am using duplicate - always did.
-
Can you run Retrospect from a third partition? Neither the one your copying "from"~nor~ the one your "copying too"?
If you haven't physically removed or altered the preferences in the FROM disk, all should be as it was. Only the copy will have lost files.
If you can.....install Retrospect on a third disk (partition) and duplicate to> the copy disk, if no disk is available,
reduplicate the "FROM" disk, it should fill in the blanks. (and be a very small file duplication) I've had the experience (in OS8.6) that retrospect will get caught on something and stop in it's tracks. I would close out the application and reduplicate, somehow it's would find a way to overcome the problem.
Also, if there is not enough Memory allocated to the application, or if you use Virtual Memory and you have no space, this can stop retrospect.