Author Topic: iChat av  (Read 5257 times)

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 24925
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Headless Mac mini, both 10.14.1
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mid-southweather.com
iChat av
« Reply #15 on: February 07, 2004, 09:29:31 PM »
Trying to get the hang of this iChat thang, thanks to RHP...
Got Panther so I also have AV, 'cept it's still labeled as plain ole iChat! Even in the Get Info. But if you use the "About iChat..." menu the splash screen calls it iChat AV. I think it is just a conspiracy to confuse me! unsure.gif

Anyway, I managed to 'chat' with RHP last week for a while. But all day yesterday and until a few minutes ago, his 'availablility' showed 'Away'. Just as I was about to send him an e-mail to suggest he 'chat' a while. The phone rings with him on the other end! eusa_dance.gif (How did he know I was about to e-mail him?! He must be one smart cookie! thumbup.gif ) So I say,
"Why haven't you been available the last two days?" He wanted to know the same of me! But there my iChat window sits, still saying I'm here (even if not completely!). And he says his is also running and showing him as available, also. But we each were still showing the other as 'Away'.

I tried various things, even forced a re-assignment of my connection with the internet. Nothing made any difference. Finally, I went into the Address Book and noticed that I didn't have a .Mac address for him, only his earthlink one.

That's when I noticed how unfriendly the Address Book is if you haven't read the manual (there is a manual, right? Apparently, the e-mail address(es) must relate to the AIM/Chat names. In other words, the first e-mail address must go with the first AIM name. The second with the second. Note that you can have 3 e-mail addresses but only 2 AIM names.
It may be simply that the label assigned to each address relates to the AIM name with the same label and the order is irrelavent. But it seems easier to keep things in some kind of logical order.

To make a long story even longer, after associating RHP's .Mac address with his .Mac chat name, both having the same labels, I could add him to my buddy list and he immediately became a full-colored buddy, even though he was still 'Away'. I then could send him chat messages. I have only one other 'buddy' (Gary) and he is still unselectable. I do have a .Mac address but I don't think I have his real chat name, so he remains greyed out. But I somehow have his picture! Where did that come from?! doh.gif
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 24925
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Headless Mac mini, both 10.14.1
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mid-southweather.com
iChat av
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2004, 09:37:35 PM »
If someone has some answers, I'll probably be 'available' tomorrow afternoon between 3 and 5PM EST. Let me know if my conjuring above is the way this stuff is sipposed to work. My iChat name is xairbusdriver(@mac.com). This is my free account name, won't subscribe unless this iChat thing is a real benefit. The slow speed of iDisk was OK when it was free, I guess I should see if it's any faster with this faster computer!

J. Chaffin
----------
I planted some birdseed. A bird came up.
Now I don't know what to feed it.
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014

Offline Mrious_be

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 3159
    • View Profile
    • http://www.marceldaems.com
iChat av
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2004, 07:46:06 AM »
QUOTE(airbusdriver @ Feb 8 2004, 5:29 AM)
...I could add him to my buddy list and he immediately became a full-colored buddy, even though he was still 'Away'. I then could send him chat messages. I have only one other 'buddy' (Gary) and he is still unselectable. I do have a .Mac address but I don't think I have his real chat name, so he remains greyed out...

 This all sounds verrrrry strange to me.
I could always add any budy to my contact list that i wanted to.
When they are "grayed" out that means they are not online, the "away" message goes for when they are online, but not able/wanting to talk.
A nice thing actually that we can set different away/available messages up, a fun way to have a second communication going on wink.gif
The pictures or icons load automaticly the minute you receive a message from the person you are talking to, it seems icons are always send with the message and not seperately (hope this is typed correct?).

As for the rest, i don't know what to say.
Adding buddies always worked for me, and i didn't had any problems adding them, not when they had an .Mac account or an AIM account, both worked always for me.
Maybe others know, i'm curious to smile.gif

smile.gif
[img]http://dwdf.daisypath.com/a4ipp1.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

Offline kelly

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17040
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2004, 08:58:27 AM »
« Last Edit: February 08, 2004, 09:00:03 AM by kelly »
kelly
Veteran SuperUser

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 24925
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Headless Mac mini, both 10.14.1
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mid-southweather.com
iChat av
« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2004, 02:54:52 PM »
Won't argue with anyones definition about what the various colors/greyed out/messages mean in iChat, I'm probably the newest user this side of the Atlantic! blush-anim-cl.gif

All I know is that both Dick and I had our 'Buddy List' windows showing that we were both online and available, but they also showed us greyed out on the others list. When I edited his info in my address book to 'tie' his iChat name with his .Mac address, he immediately became 'available' on my list, green dot and all. He e-mailed me and said he edited my info on his machine and it also fixed things on his end. I see that we are both available at this moment, I'll see if I can get his attention.  harhar.gif  eusa_dance.gif
.
.
.
20 minutes later...
Something just scared Sweety, my cat! It was the sound when Dick changed his status to 'Away!' I hope he never comes face-to-face with her! unsure.gif She can be pretty grumpy when awakened like that! nono.gif
« Last Edit: February 08, 2004, 03:13:21 PM by airbusdriver »
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014

Offline RHPConsult

  • TS Addict
  • Posts: 7860
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2004, 08:23:17 AM »
Tell "Sweety" I'll never do that again! rolleyes.gif

I had no problem with Jim's "listing" when I merely discovered that his AIM/iChat address was not his e-address. That never occurred to me until he patiently suggested I get with it.

I have to give full credit to Al who was the first person to introduce me to the fact that my new Panther has iChatav just waiting to be exploited . . . a most remarkable bell/whistle/whatever.

One place I'm certain it will come in handy is when my brother-in-law (age 87 and, if you can believe it, a 1st time computer "operator") fires up his new iMac later this week - - yes, Kelly, he took the deal too laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif .

Being able to talk to him, real time, while he also peers at the manifold mysteries on his monitor is going to be ideal, IMHO, for "mentoring".

Re: firewalls and routers. I have whatever firewall evolves from the combination of my NetGear Router/Hub and the Alcatel ADSL modem. No further add-ons. That created no problems whatsoever as far as I could detect, after solviing the ABD-address glitch. I chatted with Al on the iMac, but with Jim on the Pismo, with it's teeny speakers, which is also downstream of the PowerLine Eathernet Bridge I've been raving about. No Prob-Lem! I would add that the Pismo is only a 400 mHz machine . . . but we were only using the "a" in "av", of course!

What really astonished me in this whole adventure, again a general comment about OSX>>Panther, is how easy it really was to get up and going with this feature . . . check that, this "benefit".

I was amused, thinking about the first time I tried to set-up a 300 baud modem (about a 1000 years ago) with a very early Mac, and the agonies associated therewith. Panther is,  simply stated, a dream.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2004, 08:26:05 AM by RHPConsult »

Offline Mrious_be

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 3159
    • View Profile
    • http://www.marceldaems.com
iChat av
« Reply #21 on: February 09, 2004, 12:22:30 PM »
QUOTE(RHPConsult @ Feb 9 2004, 4:23 PM)
I have whatever firewall evolves from the combination of my NetGear Router/Hub and the Alcatel ADSL modem.

 Woohoooo.. you just helped the Belgian Telecom sector biggrin.gif

 clap.gif
[img]http://dwdf.daisypath.com/a4ipp1.png\" border=\"0\" class=\"linked-sig-image\" /]

Offline george

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1260
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #22 on: February 09, 2004, 03:26:50 PM »
Kelly, still wading through your link.
Looking at some of the answers in this thread can I ask those of you already using iChat are you hooked up to AOL? and which webcam are you using and is it used via Classic or Panther.
Can I use AIM without being a subscriber to AOL?.
George

Offline bobw

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 611
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #23 on: February 09, 2004, 03:40:17 PM »
You can't use iChat in Classic. It's an OS X app only.
AIM is a free download from here;

http://www.aim.com

You do  not need to be using AOL, or be a sunscriber, but when you download AIM, you will need to pick out a user name and password.

Firewire webcams work better than USB, and you'll need a hack to use a USB cam with iChatAV.

Offline george

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1260
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #24 on: February 10, 2004, 03:49:46 AM »
bobw, That is one of my problems, I have a Philips 740 USB which will only work in Classic and iChat will only work in Panther a catch 22 situation. Where does one get hold of this 'hack' that might work with my Philips webcam since Philips do not provide drivers ( for the 740 ) to work with Panther.
George.
 wallbash.gif  wallbash.gif

Offline bobw

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 611
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #25 on: February 10, 2004, 09:07:52 AM »
I don't know if it will work with your cam, but give it a try.  iChatUSBCam

http://ecamm.com/mac/ichatusbcam/

Offline kelly

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17040
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #26 on: February 10, 2004, 09:24:40 AM »
Yeah. What Bob said. smile.gif

USB Video Conferencing with Panther

http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2003...usb_webcam.html

George. Some people are able to use their Camcorder with IChat.

"When you install iChat AV, the software automatically configures and optimizes itself for your setup. No hassle over network setup or peripherals. While iChat AV works best with iSight, you can use any FireWire DV camera or Web cam for video chat. "

http://www.apple.com/ichat/

http://reviews-zdnet.com.com/Apple_iChat_A...30422614-3.html
kelly
Veteran SuperUser

Offline george

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1260
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #27 on: February 10, 2004, 11:58:51 AM »
bobw, Kelly, thanks for the info, have now got iChat to recognise my Canon 550i in sound but no picture, I assume that on powering up iChat + camcorder that whatever the camcorder sees would be tranferred to screen.
George.
ps all I need is someone to conference with!
 sad.gif

Offline bobw

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 611
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #28 on: February 10, 2004, 12:11:27 PM »
My ichat name is maktek@mac.com. You can try me anytime you see me on.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2004, 03:25:17 PM by bobw »

Offline george

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1260
    • View Profile
    • http://
iChat av
« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2004, 04:18:09 PM »
bobw, many thanks for your reply, will make a note of your iChat name and when i get the proper responses from my setup I'll be in touch.
  thanx.gif again.
George