Author Topic: Ram Doubler 2  (Read 1386 times)

Offline Johanbgoot

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ram Doubler 2
« on: February 03, 2004, 12:07:20 PM »
Hi everyone,

I have the chance to get a copy of Ram Doubler 2 for my series B (233mhz) iMac running OS 9.04.  Please be candid as to whether it will work on this machine, and would it be worthwhile installing this to get a bit more speed, or am I just looking to complicate matters?  The iMac has been just purring along without any trouble, for months now, and I don't want to mess up!

Thanks,

Johan
Hmmmmm. I know you think you understand what you thought I said, but I'm not sure that what you heard is what I actually meant!

Offline bobw

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 611
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ram Doubler 2
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2004, 01:20:11 PM »
I used RD for years with no problems, but I think the last system I used it with was 7.6 or 8.0. as long as it's compatible with 9.0 you won't have any problem with it. It's easy to remove.

Offline ()

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1102
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ram Doubler 2
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2004, 01:57:32 PM »
I have used the Ram Doubler before, and I ended up buying the Ram and installing it on my computer.  Better to have the real thing than to have an emulator...

Good luck... eusa_dance.gif

Offline pendragon

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 7178
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pendragonservices.com
Ram Doubler 2
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2004, 02:01:11 PM »
Bobw has it correctomundo of course (IMNHO). I have a PowerMac 7600/120 with a NewerTech 275 Hz board, running OS 9.1. And RD works great. The machine only has 80MB of physical RAM, so RD has been a big help. But real RAM is always better (but perhaps a tad expensive for old machines). I seldom use that machine these days, but when I did, I never had problems with RD.

Harv
« Last Edit: February 03, 2004, 02:28:07 PM by pendragon »
Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~ Voltaire

Offline krissel

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 14629
    • View Profile
Ram Doubler 2
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2004, 09:57:39 PM »
RamDoubler will give you the opportunity to run more applications at one time but don't expect to get any increase in speed. That's not what RamDoubler is for. It was great for older machines that had limitations on how much RAM could be installed but with the larger chips available now for most newer machines it lost its usefullness.

Think of it as a special kind of Virtual Memory. It will use the hard drive disk space as memory as well but does it in a slightly different manner from the OS's virtual memory. If anything it could make some things slower.

If you are looking for speed increase you need real RAM.
If you are paying for it, don't. Put the money into a new chip.

smile.gif

You didn't say how much memory you now have and what size chips are installed?


A Techsurvivors founder

Offline FLASH1296

  • Super Duper Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 468
    • View Profile
    • http://
Ram Doubler 2
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2004, 04:01:14 PM »
R D  will typically slow you down  by perhaps 2-4%   IF  it will work at all.  AT the low low price of RAM  there is NO way to endorse  R D

Offline swhitset

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
    • http://web.mac.com/swhitset/
Ram Doubler 2
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2004, 04:41:18 PM »
First, Let me say That I agree that buying real ram is the way to go.  However, If you already have Ramdoubler, I would use it rather than Apple's VM.  If you are already using VM, Ram Doubler will give you a slight speed increase... only because Apple's Virtual Memory is so darn slow.

Again though... Buy real ram if possible


Steve