Author Topic: What am I doing wrong!?  (Read 2494 times)

Offline Jay

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
    • http://
What am I doing wrong!?
« on: May 07, 2003, 09:03:00 PM »
Okay I have spent hours trying to figure out what is wrong with this website I am creating...  And I still can't figure it out.

 www.jusjen.com

It looks fine before I upload it.  All slices fit perfectly together and are all the correct size...  Once I upload it to the server -     It's all over the place!  Any suggestions?

All the images in the logo are sliced up.  Should I not slice them up and use one big graphic?  Or maybe just slice in half?

THANKS!

Offline Paddy

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 13797
    • View Profile
    • https://www.paddyduncan.com
What am I doing wrong!?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2003, 11:32:00 PM »
Jay, can you post a screen shot so that we know what it's supposed to look like? Kinda hard to comment when we don't know!
"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into committees. That'll do them in." ~Author unknown •iMac 5K, 27" 3.6Ghz i9 (2019) • 16" M1 MBP(2021) • 9.7" iPad Pro • iPhone 13

Offline Spartacus

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
    • View Profile
    • http://www.theapplemuseum.com
What am I doing wrong!?
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2003, 01:30:00 AM »
A screen shot would definitely help.

However, in the case that the 3 parts of the logo are supposed to show up vertically, then I think I have found a problem:

code:
<TR>
      <TD COLSPAN=2>
         <IMG SRC="images/logo_01.gif" WIDTH=126 HEIGHT=62 ALT=""></TD>
      <TD COLSPAN=2 ROWSPAN=3 ALIGN=left VALIGN=top>
         <IMG SRC="images/logo_02.gif" WIDTH=380 HEIGHT=183 ALT=""></TD>
      <TD>
         <IMG SRC="images/logo_03.gif" WIDTH=125 HEIGHT=62 ALT=""></TD>
   </TR>

If you want logo_01.gif and logo_02.gif to be displayed vertically, you'd have to put them in different rows of your table.

So your code should look something like this:

code:
<p align=center>
<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 width=631 border=0>
<tr>
   <td><p align=center>&nbsp;</p></td>
</tr>
<tr>
   <td>
      <table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 border=0 width=100%>
      <tr>
         <td><p align=center>
         <IMG SRC="http://www.jusjen.com/images/logo_01.gif" ALT=""><br>
         <IMG SRC="http://www.jusjen.com/images/logo_02.gif" ALT=""><br>
         <IMG SRC="http://www.jusjen.com/images/logo_03.gif" ALT=""></p>
         </td>
      </tr>
      </table>
   </td>
</tr>
<tr>
   <td>
      <table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 border=0 width=100%>
      <tr>
         <td><p align=right>
         <IMG SRC="http://www.jusjen.com/images/logo_04.gif" WIDTH=126 HEIGHT=82 ALT="">
         </p>
         </td>
         <td><p align=left>
         <IMG SRC="http://www.jusjen.com/images/logo_05.gif" WIDTH=125 HEIGHT=82 ALT="">
         </p>
         </td>
      </tr>
      </table>
   </td>
</tr>
<tr>
   <td><p align=center>&nbsp;</p></td>
</tr>
<tr>
   <td>
   <p align=center><IMG SRC="http://www.jusjen.com/images/logo_09.gif"></p>
   </td>
</tr>
</table>
</p>

Please note:
I couldn't find out where logo_09.gif was originally supposed to be as it wouldn't fit below the main logo, although it has some shadows.
And I removed all of the blank white graphics and replaced them with HTML commands (I think they do what you wanted them to do).
Power Macintosh G5 (Late 2004), 1.8 GHz, 1GB RAM, DVD/CD-RW combo, ATI Radeon 9600XT
w. Lacie electron blue IV 19-inch CRT display
iPod mini, 4 GB
AirPort Express
HP LaserJet 4200N
HP DeskJet 6940

Offline Jay

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
    • http://
What am I doing wrong!?
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2003, 09:24:00 AM »
Okay here is what it is supposed to look like:
 

Thanks everyone.

Offline Jay

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
    • http://
What am I doing wrong!?
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2003, 09:31:00 AM »
Okay I figured out whats wrong...  The sections of the logo that were out of wack were old slices of the old logo.  Somehow they were not overrided when the new ones were uploaded to the server.  i deleted the whole images folder (which I did the first time) and re-uploaded the new images folder again.  I don't know why it worked this time and not the last time.  Weird.

Thanks anyways though!!

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 26388
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Big Sur, Mac mini, Catalina
    • View Profile
    • Mid-South Weather
What am I doing wrong!?
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2003, 06:31:00 PM »
Just wondering why you're using a table for this. At first I thought you might be talking about a mapped image.

BTW never use your browser to 'validate' your code. Here are 2 good places (and they are both free!)

W3C HTML Validator
WDG HTML Validator

Of course BBEdit has an extremely good validator built in. And if you have to work with tables (yuck!), it will help make sure everything at least has opening and closing tags.

Jim C.
 
 [ 05-08-2003, 07:38 PM: Message edited by: airbusdriver ]
THERE ARE TWO TYPES OF COUNTRIES
Those that use metric = #1 Measurement system
And the United States = The Banana system
CAUTION! Childhood vaccinations cause adults! :yes:

Offline Paddy

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 13797
    • View Profile
    • https://www.paddyduncan.com
What am I doing wrong!?
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2003, 08:15:00 PM »
Jay, I guess I'm a little puzzled as to why you are using slices for a simple logo - it doesn't have rollovers or links or animations or sections that are JPEG and sections that are GIF...and it isn't a large image with many component parts you might want to change in the future (all the reasons I can think of to use slices in the first place...)

I guess I subscribe to the KISS principle - Keep It Simple Stupid...so if there is no compelling reason to complicate a simple image, why do it? You've added a lot of seemingly unnecessary code to your page - unless you have plans we're not aware of yet!
"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into committees. That'll do them in." ~Author unknown •iMac 5K, 27" 3.6Ghz i9 (2019) • 16" M1 MBP(2021) • 9.7" iPad Pro • iPhone 13

Offline Jay

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
    • http://
What am I doing wrong!?
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2003, 10:07:00 PM »
Thanks for the input everyone!

Thanks for the links Jim.  Very interesting.  I have used them before, but lost the link somehow and therefor forgot about them.

Paddy, I am aware of the KISS principal, I try to live by it.  I always have to tell myself to keep it simple!  Sometimes I get too carried away and forget what I am really trying to accomplish - to create a site with easy navigation, fast loading and pleasing to the viewer.  Now that I think about it, you are right about slicing the image.  It made sense at the time, but I'll fix it.  Also, what needless code are you talking about?  I am not coding by hand.  I am using Dreamweaver.  I have gone in and manually added some code however.  Thanks