Author Topic: Upgrade to Panther on G3 500 iMac DVse  (Read 3343 times)

Offline jepinto

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 6195
    • View Profile
    • http://
Upgrade to Panther on G3 500 iMac DVse
« on: December 14, 2006, 07:30:18 AM »
Modem shows in system profiler, shows in System preferences>Networking, but won't dial.

Says Connecting then quick Disconnect, but never dials-have sound up and sound on so we can hear it.  Not the phone line or the jack as an XP Pro laptop will dial out on the same line.

Didn't test it at my house when upgrading, as I used an ethernet connection to do all the upgrades.

Follwed Apple instructions as to selecting the proper modem, Internal Apple V90.  Tried in Network Set up Assistant, and just in Networking.

sos.gif  sos.gif She's beginning to wonder if I'm as good as I've let on-and she can't get DSL at her house.

imac 500 DV se, 1 gig ram, new pram battery.  Disk warrior and Tech tool both run on the machine because the old pram battery caused major problems with wrong dates and kept getting errors with Disk Utilities, Tech tool fixed it.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2006, 07:33:01 AM by jepinto »
Do not fear your enemies.  The worse they can do is kill you.  Do not fear friends.  At worst, they may betray you.
Fear those who do not care; they neither kill nor betray, but betrayal and murder exist because of their silent consent.
~Bruno Jasienski~

Offline Paddy

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 13763
    • View Profile
    • https://www.paddyduncan.com
Upgrade to Panther on G3 500 iMac DVse
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2006, 07:54:36 AM »
Not just a Panther problem, it would appear:

http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/OSX/tiger_modem_reports.html

From Apple forums - .plist things to trash:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?m...64&#1299764

Out of curiosity, was this an upgrade or a wipe and install?
"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into committees. That'll do them in." ~Author unknown •iMac 5K, 27" 3.6Ghz i9 (2019) • 15" MBP(2019) 2.4Ghz i9 • 9.7" iPad Pro • iPhone 8

Offline jepinto

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 6195
    • View Profile
    • http://
Upgrade to Panther on G3 500 iMac DVse
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2006, 09:07:14 AM »
QUOTE
Out of curiosity, was this an upgrade or a wipe and install?

Install in place.  She had 9.0.4, upgraded it to 9.1, then installed 10.3.4, upgraded it to 10.3.9 then had to upgrade the Classic to 9.2.2
Do not fear your enemies.  The worse they can do is kill you.  Do not fear friends.  At worst, they may betray you.
Fear those who do not care; they neither kill nor betray, but betrayal and murder exist because of their silent consent.
~Bruno Jasienski~

Offline jepinto

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 6195
    • View Profile
    • http://
Upgrade to Panther on G3 500 iMac DVse
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2006, 08:22:29 AM »
To bring an end to this saga...

Starting up in 9.2.2 with base extensions, and the modem worked.  Deleting the internetconnect.plist and internetconfig.plist in Panther didn't help;  it would not work in 10.  My friend had Applecare left, and the tech couldn't make it work.  But she and the tech both noticed the dates were off between the two OS.  The tech even had her pull the new ram, testing.  eek2.gif

Opened Date & Time in Panther and noticed the Time Zones were incomplete, and the pull down menu for cities was empty;  one could type in a city, but couldn't select.

Knowing I replaced the PRAM battery AFTER the inital install of 10, I figurerd it was the PRAM battery issue causing all the problems.  I did an archive and install and with all the dates correct, all the errors stopped.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2006, 08:23:12 AM by jepinto »
Do not fear your enemies.  The worse they can do is kill you.  Do not fear friends.  At worst, they may betray you.
Fear those who do not care; they neither kill nor betray, but betrayal and murder exist because of their silent consent.
~Bruno Jasienski~

Offline kelly

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17035
    • View Profile
    • http://
Upgrade to Panther on G3 500 iMac DVse
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2006, 10:23:24 AM »
Interesting. smile.gif
kelly
Veteran SuperUser

Offline krissel

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 14692
    • View Profile
Upgrade to Panther on G3 500 iMac DVse
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2006, 02:39:52 AM »
Congrats, oh guru.  clap.gif


A Techsurvivors founder