Author Topic: "Networking" your Macs  (Read 1145 times)

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 25700
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Mac mini, both 10.14.6
    • View Profile
    • Mid-South Weather
"Networking" your Macs
« on: October 26, 2009, 09:41:00 AM »
I keep reading about people using the "Go->Connect to Server..." menu to access another Mac on their network. While this works, I can't remember doing it that way. Maybe it's because it's so easy to get or have a Finder window open. dntknw.gif But there is a pref in Finder to have Servers show in the sidebar. Of course, you can have them on the Desktop, also. Anyway, simply selecting the Server icon in the sidebar will present all the contents of that Server in the window for you. The icon is already labeled with that Server's name rather than the mysterious "afp" address in the "Connect to..." window (maybe there is a way to change that, there is also the little disclosure toggle that will show the real names...). But that's already two clicks and/or a key stroke. I just usually have a Finder window open (always in Column view, of course) and click the server I want and (if I want to get something from it) drag something from it to my desktop. Otherwise, a command-n will open a new Finder window so I can drag something from my Mac to the other one.

Of course, what shows or what you can access on the other Mac(s) is limited to how you set up your sharing prefs on the other Mac(s). Maybe I'm just lazy or stubborn? yes.gif blush-anim-cl.gif dntknw.gif Just another way, I guess...
I don’t like the fact that my chances of survival seem to be linked to the common sense of others. :Thinking:
CAUTION! Childhood vaccinations cause adults! :yes:

Offline Paddy

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 13695
    • View Profile
    • https://www.paddyduncan.com
"Networking" your Macs
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2009, 10:35:20 AM »
I guess it depends on how often you connect to the other Macs on your network. For me, it's relatively rare and it's easy to do when I need it. Just Go->Network->pick whoever's Mac I need to connect to->connect as that person (I know all the logins and passwords) and done. Half the time everyone else's computers are asleep, off or not here anyway.
"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into committees. That'll do them in." ~Author unknown •iMac 5K, 27" 3.6Ghz i9 (2019) • 15" MBP(2019) 2.4Ghz i9 • 9.7" iPad Pro • iPhone 8

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 25700
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Mac mini, both 10.14.6
    • View Profile
    • Mid-South Weather
"Networking" your Macs
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2009, 10:59:11 AM »
QUOTE
I know all the logins and passwords
What "logins and passwords"? dntknw.gif And both machines are set to wake up when network messages come in. dntknw.gif
I don’t like the fact that my chances of survival seem to be linked to the common sense of others. :Thinking:
CAUTION! Childhood vaccinations cause adults! :yes:

Offline Paddy

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 13695
    • View Profile
    • https://www.paddyduncan.com
"Networking" your Macs
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2009, 03:10:56 PM »
The logins and passwords for each of the Macs. Even if I have them in the Finder sidebar, they're not automatically connected - one still has to put in the login and password, unless you want to connect as a guest. Or you are perpetually connected, which our Macs are not (of the 5 in daily use, 3 are laptops and only my Mac Pro is always on AND in the house.)

Do you have the automatic connection set to happen on startup? Like this:

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?sto...020906055811486 (the last poster's method is easiest!)

I don't think I WANT my kids connecting to me - and I think they'd be a bit perturbed if I was always connected to them. wink.gif
"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into committees. That'll do them in." ~Author unknown •iMac 5K, 27" 3.6Ghz i9 (2019) • 15" MBP(2019) 2.4Ghz i9 • 9.7" iPad Pro • iPhone 8

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 25700
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Mac mini, both 10.14.6
    • View Profile
    • Mid-South Weather
"Networking" your Macs
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2009, 05:13:23 PM »
Not perpetually, I often click the 'eject' icon instead of just closing the finder window with her data. While both machine are on 24/7 (folding proteins), they both have scheduled back ups with SD which is instructed to do a Restart as the last step. And I probably Restart mine several times a month, manually.

Never put anything like that in the start up items and nothing in there about opening a connection with anything. All I remember doing is setting up the Sharing prefs on both Macs. Setting Finder perfs to show "Shared" items and it just works. wink.gif

I did have to enter my name and password to Share Screen. Apparently, it managed to finally save my login/password info, might be due to SL. dntknw.gif BTW, while I'm on SL, she's still on 10.5.8. But it worked the same way when we were both on Leopard. Oh well, whatever works, I guess. dntknw.gif

Now, I wouldn't want my 'youguns' to have access to my machine, either. But that's where the Sharing setup comes in, I thought, anyway. And you can specify the user also. The only reason I know this works is because I do it so often. dntknw.gif I just thought it was supposed to work this way, been doing it for several years. It's simple, it works. It's free. What's not to like? smile.gif

Maybe I'm just "Special!!!" laughhard.gif
I don’t like the fact that my chances of survival seem to be linked to the common sense of others. :Thinking:
CAUTION! Childhood vaccinations cause adults! :yes:

Offline Paddy

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 13695
    • View Profile
    • https://www.paddyduncan.com
"Networking" your Macs
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2009, 07:57:18 PM »
Well, I have my Finder set to show shared items - and it does, when they're connected. Otherwise they're not there. And I do have to put in the login and PW each time.

Interesting - I'd never considered having my Mac restart each night after SD does its stuff. I'd have to be a whole lot more organized than I am right now though - I almost always have work in progress open (saved, of course!) in Dreamweaver, InDesign, Word and Photoshop.
"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into committees. That'll do them in." ~Author unknown •iMac 5K, 27" 3.6Ghz i9 (2019) • 15" MBP(2019) 2.4Ghz i9 • 9.7" iPad Pro • iPhone 8

Offline RNKIII

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
    • View Profile
    • http://
"Networking" your Macs
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2009, 08:21:30 PM »
Huh...  my copy of SD! (most current vs.) does not give me the option to 'restart'  only 'Restart from backup'....?!?!?

How do you get it to do that??

Bob K.   rnkiii
« Last Edit: October 26, 2009, 08:21:56 PM by RNKIII »
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach him to
use the Net and he won't bother you for weeks.

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 25700
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Mac mini, both 10.14.6
    • View Profile
    • Mid-South Weather
"Networking" your Macs
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2009, 12:55:01 PM »
You are exactly correct, Bob, no Restarting in there! wallbash.gif That's a schedule I have in Cocktail, and it only runs on Sundays when I'm usually at church! So many details, so little time...
Thanks to you, I'm now running the SD back up! Only way to see what it was really supposed to do. doh.gif Well, other than look in its Help files... blush-anim-cl.gif Sorry for the confusion, again! sad.gif
I don’t like the fact that my chances of survival seem to be linked to the common sense of others. :Thinking:
CAUTION! Childhood vaccinations cause adults! :yes: