Author Topic: I have to keep re-starting. Why?  (Read 3058 times)

Offline bellbram

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« on: February 06, 2004, 01:17:56 AM »
Using 400 Mhz G4 Desktop with OS 10.2.8 and 832 MB RAM.  Got over 50GB available space on HDs.

I leave my computer on all the time and just let it go bye-byes at night or if I'm away from it for a while.    Recently and only since switching to ADSL, instead of waking up like a good boy, it gives me that "You must restart your computer..."  alert.

I should add that coincidental with the ADSL switch I started using Deja Vu to back up nightly.  At one time I thought DV might be interfering with something, but I get this darned alert during the day too, when DV shouldn't be doing anything.

One other thing.   It has only been happening since I installed Virtual PC (v. 6.1 for Mac), but I don't know if that's the cause.

I've tried to figure out if the alert is triggered by a particular app I've been working on, but there doesn't seem to be any understandable link.

Any clues anyone?  sad.gif

Offline pendragon

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 7178
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pendragonservices.com
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2004, 04:39:09 AM »
Sounds (to me) like you are having kernel panics. This is often, but not always related to hardware or RAM. http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106227

Try this:

Restart in Safe Mode by holding down a shift key while booting. This is usually a slow boot and will force the system to perform some background "housekeeping" including a file system check. After it is fully booted this way, just restart again and when done, go immediately to your Disk Utility and Repair Permissions on your drive.

You may try disconnecting all peripherals, hubs, scanners, etc. (except keyboard & mouse) and see if the problem continues.  BTW, are you using a third party keyboard or mouse?

Also, Randy Singer has some very good suggestions: http://www.macattorney.com/tutorial.html#A...or-Kernel-30929

Others know far more about this subject and the remedy than I, but this may get you started.

Harv
« Last Edit: February 06, 2004, 04:52:45 AM by pendragon »
Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~ Voltaire

Offline bellbram

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2004, 08:14:46 AM »
Thanks Harv.   I'll try your suggestions a bit later, as I have to go out now.  Will revert and let you know if anything works.  Of course, I may have to wait a while, 'cos the problem was intermittent.  But if I go several days with no alert, I'll know it's fixed.

Offline kelly

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17040
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2004, 08:30:25 AM »
Is this what you see bellbram? smile.gif



Mac OS X: What Is a Kernel Panic?

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106227

Mac OS X: Troubleshooting a Startup Issue

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106464
« Last Edit: February 06, 2004, 08:32:47 AM by kelly »
kelly
Veteran SuperUser

Offline bellbram

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2004, 10:51:11 AM »
Yes Kelly, that's what I see.   I can understand the first paragraph of the alert, and have a fair idea of what to do about the next two.   It's that darned last paragraph that bugs me.  Can't understand it!

Anyway, I'm off now to your two suggested sites.   Bye for now.

Peter

Offline bellbram

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2004, 11:34:24 AM »
OK kelly.  Have looked at the sites, the first of which, re Kernel Panic looked as if it fitted the bill, but it frightens me stiff!   I read all that stuff about contacting Apple and describing my life history and got chicken-hearted.

Sooo...  I decided to call the Apple's tech help line and after hanging on for a few hours listening to some real rough music, finally got thru to a guru who wanted $65 to help!  However I sweet-talked him for a wee bit of info and his bright suggestion is simply to re-install.  Not a clean install, just a simple re-install, followed by using Disk First Aid   It seems a cheap and quick way, but it means going thru the process of downloading all the upgrades, 'cos my CD is 10.2.5.

I'm in no rush to do anything, 'cos tho' it's irritating, I can live with it for a bit, but I'd like to know whether you think a re-install etc is likely to cure my wobbly kernel.

It's all a such a bore  sleep1.gif

Have a good week-end

Offline kelly

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17040
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2004, 12:22:46 PM »
Try Harv's suggestions first Peter. smile.gif
kelly
Veteran SuperUser

Offline Gary S

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2503
    • View Profile
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2004, 05:18:51 PM »
Peter,

Have you installed any new Ram lately or any other hardware modifications?
Gary S

Offline bellbram

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2004, 07:04:23 PM »
Have been out all evening, but before leaving followed Harv's instructions.  Am now going to get some shut-eye, and will find out in the morning whether I am faced with an alert, or whether repairing permissions on the main HD has done the trick.    Don't hold your breath!   I'll be back.

Peter

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 25521
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Mac mini, both 10.14.6
    • View Profile
    • Mid-South Weather
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2004, 08:51:52 PM »
I believe you stated that you run the Mac 24/7 (except for the restarts!). But you have it going to sleep after a certain period? Does that allow the CRON jobs to run? I don't think it does. Could that be part of the problem? Do you have MacJanitor? Several have stated it works great - runs the CRON jobs when you want rather than when they are normally scheduled (O dark-thirty! sleep1.gif ). It shouldn't hurt to try before a reinstal! whew.gif
I don’t like the fact that my chances of survival seem to be linked to the common sense of others. :Thinking:

Offline bellbram

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2004, 08:13:10 AM »
Took Harv's suggestion to heart and did a Safe Mode restart followed by another restart and the Repair Permissions thing.  This morning, tapped the space bar to wake up the box, and lo!, and even behold!, the screen lights up, with NO ALERT.     But, wait for it.  I click on the phone icon to get to "Connect", 'cos I want to talk to you guys, and what happens?
That darned "Restart your computer" alert comes up.  doh.gif

Now,

In answer to Gary S, no, nothing new other than loading the driver for the ADSL modem (Speedtouch) and loading Virtual PC for Mac.

airbusdriver  I've now downloaded MacJanitor and run it for "All tasks", so we'll see if that does the trick.  And thanks for the suggestion.  Will let you know in a day or so.

Meantime, a big than you to all for trying to help  clap.gif

Offline kelly

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 17040
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2004, 09:09:16 AM »
MacJanitor is handy but should have nothing to do with kernel panics. smile.gif

Is that ASDL modem USB or Ethernet? What model exactly?

Uncheck "Connect automatically if needed" in Network > PPP Options.

Or wherever, if you have it checked.

Or just go over all your Network Preferences. smile.gif
« Last Edit: February 07, 2004, 11:03:03 AM by kelly »
kelly
Veteran SuperUser

Offline bellbram

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2004, 10:51:09 AM »
ADSL modem is USB.   Model is Alcatel Speedtouch,   "Connect automatically if needed" is (and always has been) unchecked.

Another odd thing has just started happening.  Although I have been connected to the net for about 2 hours, the timer next to the phone icon is registering 00:00:00.   That's never been the case before.  It's always shown the actual length of time connected.   Wierder & wierder.

Offline kps

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 1693
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2004, 12:03:49 PM »
That's probably your answer right there (good call kelly)...call your ISP and get the USB modem replaced by an ethernet model. I'll bet you that your kernel panics will go away. You may also need to uninstall the modem's driver (kext).
« Last Edit: February 07, 2004, 12:05:21 PM by kps »

Offline bellbram

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
    • http://
I have to keep re-starting. Why?
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2004, 11:18:01 AM »
You may be right kps, but I'll wait a while longer before changing modems.  I decided yesterday to try not sending the computer to sleep, but to keep it on 24 hrs.   Since then, plus using MacJanitor, I've had no further alerts.  But only time will tell.   I know that everyone here on the Island having ADSL is using the same modem, 'cos that's what our local ISP (which is also the local phone company) sells.    Further problems and you can bet your life I'll be back  biggrin.gif