Author Topic: "Ghost" Duplicate  (Read 1133 times)

Offline jb

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • http://
"Ghost" Duplicate
« on: November 03, 2009, 02:08:28 PM »
Lately, whenever I make a duplicate of anything using Command D, not only do I get a duplicate (copy), but I also get a “Ghost Duplicate”, i.e an exact replica of the duplicate icon, but one which does not do anything as well as not being able to remove it to the Trash.

The only way to get rid of the “Ghost” is to restart the computer, or to trash the “True” copy.

See Picture.

[attachment=1642:Picture_4.jpg]

Can this be fixed?

jb
iMac 21.5" Intel i3, OS 10.6.8, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HFS+ Internal HD, SuperDrive, 4 part 1TB HFS+ Firewire400 External HD 1, 250 GB HFS+ Firewire400 External HD 2, Powered 7 port USB Hub, USB Printer/Scanner, USB Printer/Fax/Scanner, USB Multiple Card Reader, Cable Modem, 16 GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive.

Offline Paddy

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 13695
    • View Profile
    • https://www.paddyduncan.com
"Ghost" Duplicate
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 02:39:31 PM »
Never seen this behaviour, JB and I can't seem to find any reference to it. Does it only happen with the key commands or does it happen when you use the Finder menu as well? Have you repaired permissions or tried this with a different account?
"If computers get too powerful, we can organize them into committees. That'll do them in." ~Author unknown •iMac 5K, 27" 3.6Ghz i9 (2019) • 15" MBP(2019) 2.4Ghz i9 • 9.7" iPad Pro • iPhone 8

Offline gunug

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 6691
  • TS Palindrome
    • View Profile
"Ghost" Duplicate
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 04:54:09 PM »
I've seen this once on a machine at one of my high schools and it also had other "issues" which all seemed to be cleaned up by cleaning up preferences and permissions (think it was probably the preferences).  Does it seem possible that it something to do with Automator?
"If there really is no beer in heaven then maybe at least the
computers will work all of the time!"

Offline krissel

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 14664
    • View Profile
"Ghost" Duplicate
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2009, 02:43:25 AM »
I vaguely remember something similar years ago and changing the size of the icons in the finder, logging out and back seemed to do something to the prefs that stopped the activity. Or maybe changing resolution stopped it. Thinking.gif

But I think just dumping related prefs would be easier.

Try eliminating prefs in this order:

~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.desktop.plist

~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.finder.plist

~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.systempreferences.plist


A Techsurvivors founder

Offline jb

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • http://
"Ghost" Duplicate
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2009, 08:17:31 AM »
Thanks Krissel. Thrashing those preferences fixed the problem.

xxx

jb
iMac 21.5" Intel i3, OS 10.6.8, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HFS+ Internal HD, SuperDrive, 4 part 1TB HFS+ Firewire400 External HD 1, 250 GB HFS+ Firewire400 External HD 2, Powered 7 port USB Hub, USB Printer/Scanner, USB Printer/Fax/Scanner, USB Multiple Card Reader, Cable Modem, 16 GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive.

Offline Highmac

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 5366
    • View Profile
"Ghost" Duplicate
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2009, 11:22:45 AM »
QUOTE(jb @ Nov 4 2009, 02:17 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Thanks Krissel. Thrashing those preferences fixed the problem.

xxx

jb


Thrashing doesn't often fix things, but it sure makes you feel better biggrin.gif
Neil
My Macs:
MacMini 2018, 3.2GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB memory (Mojave)
MBP Mid-2010 15in; 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard);
MBP Retina, 15in, Mid-2014, OS X High Sierra;
Monitor - LG 27UK850-W 27" 4K Ultra HD
Oh, and a G3 DV-SE (OS9.*) in the cupboard behind me...