Author Topic: Safari cant hook up  (Read 44 times)

Offline jcarter

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 5799
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jcarter.net/ourdogs/muffinpage.html
Safari cant hook up
« on: December 04, 2019, 08:07:43 AM »
I get this error message, that Safari cannot hook up to a webpage. So I just copy it and it works in all the other browsers.
Is there a way to keep Safari from doing that? My version is 10.1.2
Heres a picture,

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 25248
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Headless Mac mini, both 10.14
    • View Profile
    • Mid-South Weather
Re: Safari cant hook up
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2019, 10:15:14 AM »
Have you tried Emptying the Safari cache?

Once you have a "bad" page in any browser's cache, it can stay there for a long time. And, as long as it's in there, the browser will attempt to use it instead of downloading it. That is normal browser behavior, it's programmed to do that. When command-R doesn't help, empty the caches... in any browser. :)

Safari->Develop-Empty Caches
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014

Offline jcarter

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 5799
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jcarter.net/ourdogs/muffinpage.html
Re: Safari cant hook up
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2019, 10:22:34 AM »
Command-R works most of the time.
If I empty the caches, doesnt that eliminate the passwords Ive saved?
And I stay logged in to most of my weather sites and other things.
Just have to hit C-R when this happens. Not a problem.
Thank you

Offline jchuzi

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
Re: Safari cant hook up
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2019, 10:33:39 AM »
Emptying caches does not affect passwords. Caches, at least in theory, speed up loading of pages. The only consequence of emptying them may be that the page loads a few microseconds slower.
Jon

OS 10.15.2, iMac Retina 5K 27-inch, late 2014, 3.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 1 TB fusion drive, 16 GB RAM, Epson SureColor P600, Photoshop CC, Lightroom CC, MS Office 365

Offline Xairbusdriver

  • Administrator
  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 25248
  • 27" iMac (mid-17), Headless Mac mini, both 10.14
    • View Profile
    • Mid-South Weather
Re: Safari cant hook up
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2019, 10:39:15 AM »
There are dozens of "caches" in the OS and many apps. And there are ways to empty many of them. Safari's "Empty Caches" is mainly an aid to developers (thus it is in the "Develop" menu) so they can re-download a page they might have been making changes to without having to re-boot their Mac. :wallbash:

Quote
Just have to hit C-R when this happens.
My bad, I assumed you had already done that and it did not work. By "C-R" I am going to continue assuming you mean Command R. "C" might also be confused with Control, IMHO.
I DREAM OF A SOCIETY
where a chicken can cross the road
without having its motives questioned.

Signals, holiday 2014

Offline jcarter

  • TS Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 5799
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jcarter.net/ourdogs/muffinpage.html
Re: Safari cant hook up
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2019, 10:57:45 AM »
Yes, I was cooking lunch, so I made everything quick.

Ive never emptied the caches in all the years Ive had a computer.
So the command R seems to work most of the time with this error message.

Never seen it happen on the other Mac where we do the banking and that kind of stuff.
(Its in a different room so the grandkids wont download their stuff on it.)